List Of States And Capitals In Nigeria – 1960 To Date

States And Capitals In Nigeria

This article listed all the states in Nigeria with their capitals correctly spelled without any error. It includes the first 12 states, 19 states, 30 states, and 36 states and capital including the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

Most Nigerians can easily resist the country’s state and capital at any point in time.

The total number of states in Nigeria as at today is 36, including the federal capital territory will make it 37 states. Each of these states has its separate capital situated within the state.

Creation of states in Nigeria

Between 1960 when the country had her independence and 1960 when it became a republic, the country was divided into three regions—namely, the western region, the northern region, and the eastern region.

Soon after, the midwestern region was carved out from the western region, which made it four regions.

In 1967, the then head of state General Yakubu Gowon created the first 12 states in the country.

North-Western State, North Eastern State, Kano, Kwara, Benue-Plateau, and Kaduna were all demarcated from the Northern Region. The Western Region carved out of Lagos state.

Three states were gotten from the Eastern Region. Namely, East Central State, Rivers, and Cross River. Finally, the Mid Western region got a new name which was Bendel.

12 States in Nigeria Between 1967 -1976

  1. Lagos State
  2. North-Western State
  3. Kano State
  4. Kaduna State
  5. North-Eastern State
  6. Kwara
  7. Cross River State
  8. Rivers State
  9. Benue-Plateau State
  10. Western State
  11. East-Central state
  12. Mid-Western (Bendel) State

Later in 1976, the then Head of State General Murtala Mohammed Created more states which include;

Today’s Federal Capital Territory (Abuja) was carved from the old Niger State.

Sokoto state and Niger state was gotten from the division of the North-Western State.

The North-Eastern State was divided into three different states, which are Gongola state, Borno state, and Bauchi.

At the same time of the division, Benue-Plateau was separated to become two different states, Benue and Plateau.

Oyo, Ogun, and Ondo were gotten from the division of the Western-State.

And finally, Anambra state and Imo state were gotten from the division of the East Central State.

19 States in Nigeria Between 1976 – 1987

  1. Lagos State
  2. Kwara State
  3. Oyo State
  4. Ogun State
  5. Ondo State
  6. Cross River State
  7. Rivers State
  8. Niger State
  9. Sokoto State
  10. Borno State
  11. Kano State
  12. Kaduna State
  13. Bendel State
  14. Gongola State
  15. Bauchi State
  16. Imo State
  17. Anambra State
  18. Plateau State
  19. Benue State

In 1987 General Ibrahim Babangida created Kastina state, which was carved out from the old Kaduna state. He also created Akwa-Ibom state.

In 1991 Abia was created. Adamawa and Taraba state was gotten from the division of the then Gongola state.

Enugu state was created in the same year, Bendel state was divided into two states; Edo state and Delta state.

From Kano state, Jigawa State was carved out while Yobe state was carved out of Borno.

From Sokoto State, Kebbi was created, and Osun state from Oyo. Kogi state was also created in the same period.

30 States in Nigeria Between 1987 – 1996

    1. Lagos State
    2. Kwara State
    3. Oyo State
    4. Ogun State
    5. Ondo State
    6. Cross River State
    7. Rivers State
    8. Niger State
    9. Sokoto State
    10. Borno State
    11. Kano State
    12. Kaduna State
    13. Bauchi State
    14. Imo State
    15. Anambra State
    16. Plateau State
    17. Benue State
    18. Kastina state
    19. Akwa-Ibom state
    20. Abia State
    21. Adamawa State
    22. Taraba State
    23. Enugu state
    24. Edo state
    25. Jigawa State
    26. Yobe State
    27. Delta State
    28. Kebbi State
    29. Osun State
    30. Kogi state

Later in 1996, General Sani Abacha Created six more states, namely; Ebonyi, Nasarawa, Zamfara, Bayelsa, Gombe, and Ekiti State, were created.

List of all 36 States and Capital in Nigeria

1 Abia Umuahia
2 Adamawa Yola
3 Akwa-Ibom Uyo
4 Anambra Awka
5 Bauchi Bauchi
6 Bayelsa Yenagoa
7 Benue Makurdi
8 Borno Maiduguri
9 Cross River Calabar
10 Delta Asaba
11 Ebonyi Abakaliki
12 Edo Benin
13 Ekiti Ado-Ekiti
14 Enugu Enugu
15 Gombe Gombe
16 Imo Owerri
17 Jigawa Dutse
18 Kaduna Kaduna
19 Kano Kano
20 Katsina Katsina
21 Kebbi Birnin-Kebbi
22 Kogi Lokoja
23 Kwara Ilorin
24 Lagos Ikeja
25 Nassarawa Lafia
26 Niger Mina
27 Ogun Abeokuta
28 Ondo Akure
29 Osun Osogbo
30 Oyo Ibadan
31 Plateau Jos
32 Rivers Port-Harcourt
33 Sokoto Sokoto
34 Taraba Jalingo
35 Yobe Damaturu
36 Zamfara Gusau
37 FCT Abuja

Frequently Asked Questions

We were able to get the following FAQ and made sure this article provides an answer to them all.

  • Who created 19 states in Nigeria
  • First 19 states in Nigeria
  • States in Nigeria 1967
  • Date states were created in Nigeria

Trending Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here