Home Nations 16 West African Countries And Capitals – The Full List

16 West African Countries And Capitals – The Full List

West African Countries

This article did not only lists the West African Countries and their capitals it also explains many other features about the geographical region.

West Africa, also referred to as Western Africa or the West of Africa, is located in sub-Saharan Africa, with a roughly estimated population of about 400 million, and a density of 62 per square kilometers.

West Africa is made up of eighteen countries which include: Benin, Burkina Faso, the island state of Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania (withdrew from ECOWAS in 1999), Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

Through the colonial era, West Africa was mostly colonized by Great Britain and France. West Africa was subjected to colonization; at this point,  independence set in, diffusing into the West Africa country almost.

But within close range, Ghana had her freedom in 1957 and was the first sub-Saharan Africa colony to attain independence under the regime of Kwame Nkrumah.

Guinea, in 1958, followed suit with the independence actualization with President Ahmed Sekou Toure as a leader.

West Africa became liberated From France and British and finally had their autonomy in 1974.

West African nations have close all boundaries connecting them, but their differences in terms of language, cultural practices, and religious beliefs are essential.

They have a main Body which unites them all. This body is known as the Economic Community of West Africa state ECOWAS.

Western Africa boundary exists a cultural difference from another. Christians and the Islamic religion are their two major practices in West Africa.

Areas Where West African Countries Are Located

West African countries are categorized into four areas as they include; Guinea, Maghreb, Sahel, and the Atlantic Ocean.

  • The Guinea area includes Ivory Coast, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Nigeria, Sierra Leona, and Togo.
  • Maghreb area: this is co-inhabited by the West African groups like Fulani and Wolof, Arab-Berber Maghreb people, and Soninke.
  • Sahel area includes Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger, and Senegal.
  • The Atlantic Ocean includes Cape Verde, which is an island nation.

West Africa Countries and Capital

Benin (Republic of Benin) Porto-Novo
Burkina Faso Ouagadougou
Cape Verde Praia
The Gambia Banjul
Ghana Accra
Guinea Conakry
Guinea-Bissau Bissau
Ivory Coast (Cote d’Ivoire) Yamoussoukro
Liberia Monrovia
Mali Bamako
Mauritania Nouakchott
Niger Niamey
Nigeria Abuja
Senegal Darkar
Sierra Leone Freetown
Togo Lome

Most Read Articles

Related Tags: list of west african countries and their capital cities, the sixteen west african countries and their capitals, west african countries map, west africa history, central african countries, cities in west Africa, west africa map, west african culture.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

error: Content is protected !!